The Phoenix

A couple of phrases revealed themselves to me last night. Below is the finished product. A poem of darkness and light and hope entitled “The Phoenix”. Enjoy…Kip.

The Phoenix

Under grey cloud I ponder,
Of dreams and wishes I chase away.
As darkness falls over the land,
Am I awake or in deep slumber?
The blackness surrounds and destroys,
Time measured upon apathetic plunder.

Whispering wind flowing through my hair,
Breaking through the morning fog,
A new hope shines down.
I turn to face the rising sun,
To bear witness, the birth of a new day.
Emerging from tainted depths,
The binding ashes shed,
My body aglow in Its healing light.
Bathing in Its warmth,
With magnificent wings spread,
I rise.

12/8/15
Kipling A. Jackson

 © 2016 Kipling A. Jackson

2 thoughts on “The Phoenix

Leave a Reply

