What Is Wrong With Me?

Most of everything you hear about ALS is negative. After reading Facebook posts  from  patients/people with ALS on Facebook , they are depressing. and in almost all of them they are complaining about their ailments and impending death.  There are very few positive posts out there in internet land.The reality of having ALS means there is a good chance I will die of complications from the disease – sooner rather than later. I will die… But so will YOU. Dying is natural: every single thing that has ever lived has died, everything living at this moment will die, everything that will live will inevitably die. The fact of life is death.

The reality of having ALS means there is a good chance I will die of complications from the disease – sooner rather than later. I will die… But so will YOU. Dying is natural: every single thing that has ever lived has died, everything living at this moment will die, everything that will ever live will inevitably die. The fact of life is death.

Make no mistake about it, ALS is a horrible disease. Yes, I wish there was a cure. I would love to be walking and running around instead of having my ass planted in my wheelchair for the rest of my days. I would love to grow old with my wife. I want to see an eight-team college football playoff. I want to write stories and music.

I don’t see my terminal condition like the majority of pALS see it which leaves me in the extreme minority. Being a part of this group exhibiting an attitude that certainly is not the norm brings on self-conscious tendencies every human being experience when their viewpoint goes against the grain.  To me, this suggests there just might be something wrong with me.

3/25/16

© 2016 Kipling A. Jackson

 

Leave a Reply

